Are we just plain UNLUCKY?!

Just recently I’ve been feeling as though I have had my fair share of bad luck, and I wondered whether I am alone in this or whether this feeling is shared by the vast majority out there from time to time.

First, let me tell you about my bad luck experience over the last few weeks. On top of the usual expense of Christmas, just a few days before my microwave broke down. Then two days later my washing machine does likewise. On the same day my laptop stops working (wouldn’t even start up!).

And finally, this morning I received a Police fine for doing 40mph in a 30mph zone. I remember this particular occasion well, because it was one of those mobile manned cameras in a van. I was on a dual carriageway on the coast road, and when I spotted the van I double checked my speed and although was not aware of the speed limit as I hadn’t seen a sign since I had pulled onto this stretch of road, I was sure it would be around 50mph – or 40mph at least. Evidently I was wrong. Some years ago, as a younger driver, I had enough fines and close calls that I ensure these days I make the effort to stay within the speed limit. Obviously to no avail on this occasion, because I still have a £60 fine and 3 points on my otherwise clean licence to look forward to.

Do you feel as though you have received more than your fair share of bad luck? Do you feel as though you are experiencing one set of bad circumstances after another?

Luck implies that we had no influence over the events that have befallen us. This being the case, my long-winded example above about the expected fine and points does not actually qualify. If I had been more aware, then I could have avoided the outcome.

So, are we just plain unlucky?

To find out, we need to remove those we count amongst our recent unlucky examples, which we have had an influence on – like my traffic offence. If there was something you could have done to avoid it, then remove it from the equation.

Next, make a list of what you have in comparison to other people. By this, I don’t mean possessions like Sky TV, or bigger, better cars. These things are truly of no importance. If you have a home, write it on your list. Do you have the use of a car? Then write it down. Do you have clothes, food, warmth, a phone, clean water, a relationship, security? If you can answer yes to 7 of these, then you are more wealthy, and LUCKIER than 70% of the rest of the world. If you are able to go to a restaurant, cinema or bowling; or drive to where you want to go, then you are more free, and LUCKIER than 80% of the rest of the world.

Next, make a list of the areas where you feel unlucky and write the reasons behind the events. If you can’t find work, maybe some training could help. If you keep losing relationships, maybe some counselling or asking a close friend or relative to help you discover the reason may help.

We must avoid making every undesirable outcome into a bad luck event.  Remove those things we had influence over, like my speeding offence, then we must assess the reasons for our bad luck and change those things that we can to minimise the chances of them ever happening again.

I believe every person has bad things happen to them; “He [God] causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.” Matthew 5:45. So it’s just a case of how we let ourselves see these events. When my microwave and washing machine broke down, I was very lucky to have someone collect them both from my home for free, saving me a tough job of taking them to the recycling centre. I was also lucky, because the timing meant I was able to take full advantage of the January sales.

I realise things could have been worse; my washing machine could have flooded my kitchen, my microwave could have exploded, or my laptop could have lost some important work. Realising that things could always be worse warrants an ultimately positive result from a bad experience.

Now, it comes clear that when things are going well, we are in good health with no imminent seemingly insurmountable problems we are experiencing good luck – we are lucky. If we look for lucky events in our day-to-day lives we will see them in very normal everyday occurrences. In time we will make positive, optimistic assumptions about things and if we’re wrong it won’t matter. Being wrong or experiencing bad luck won’t affect us beyond the actual event (we will stop making things worse).

So are we just plain UNLUCKY? No! In fact – we’re very lucky! I would go so far as to say we are blessed.

May God continue to Bless you.

email-fr-kevin-1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are we just plain UNLUCKY?!

  1. SANTHOSH says:

    Hi Kevin, you have really provided a mathematical solution, to be optimistic in our daily routine , cycle of life.

    “The rain falls on the good and bad alike”.

    A simple truth , tough to realise, by us (people)

    Thanks

    Santhosh

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.